City of Fresno Announces Historic Preservation Awards

Dec 15, 2016 No Comments by

FRESNO, CA – Mayor Ashley Swearengin today announced the winners of the City’s 2016 Historic Preservation awards which honor individuals and community groups who have demonstrated excellence in the restoration of a historic building or leadership in preservation planning and neighborhood revitalization.

The winners will be recognized at a ceremony at the Fresno City Council meeting on Thursday, December 15 at 1:30 p.m. Nominations for the awards were solicited from the public and staff and reviewed by a panel prior to submission to the Mayor for approval.

The winners are:

  • Outstanding Rehabilitation of a Residential Property: Steve Walter for the restoration of the circa 1902 American Foursquare style home located at 934 E. Mildreda; and AFREI LLC for the restoration of the circa 1902 Neoclassical cottage located at 1320 P Street.
  • Adaptive Reuse of a Historic Property: Jake Soberal, Will Dyck and Henderson Architectural Group for the rehabilitation and adaptive reuse of the James Phelan Building (1914, HP#159) at 700 Van Ness for Bitwise South Stadium.
  • Outstanding Rehabilitation of a Non-Residential Property: Reza Assemi for the restoration of the PGE (Theatre 3) Building (1926, HP#164).
  • Best In-Fill Building Project: Terance Frazier, Marvin Armstrong, Kiel Schmidt and the Fresno Housing Authority for 541 at South Tower.
  • Community Preservation Award, Individual: Three individuals recognized for their contributions to their respective neighborhoods or communities include Patricia Haun (South Van Ness Industrial District), John Walker (The Fresno Bee) and Tim Schulz (Revive Industries).
  • Community Preservation Award, Group: The City’s Historic Preservation “Swat Team” (Howard Lacy, Jesse Morrison and Kevin Watkins); and Edward Smith and the Fresno County Bicycle Coalition, for their co-sponsorship since 2005 of Bike Through History.
  • Horizon Award: Christopher Rocha for his website and advocacy for the preservation of the Hotel Fresno.
  • The Russell and Pat Fey Memorial Preservationist of the Year Award: Robert Boro, Landscape Architect for leadership and support of numerous historic and cultural causes over the past 25 years.

For more information, please contact Karana Hattersley-Drayton, City of Fresno Historic Preservation Project Manager, (559) 621-8520 or


About the author

The author didnt add any Information to his profile yet
No Responses to “City of Fresno Announces Historic Preservation Awards”

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.