Chamber Announces Agriculturalist of the Year and Baker Peterson Franklin Ag Business Award Winners

Oct 03, 2014 No Comments by

Fresno, CA (October 3, 2014) – The Fresno Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce the distinguished winner of the 2014 Agriculturalist of the Year Award: John Harris. This notable award is given annually to an individual who exemplifies leadership and integrity in the Central Valley’s agricultural business community. This year’s Presenting Sponsor for the Ag Awards is Lyons. Baker Peterson Franklin, Gar Tootelian and Regional Hand Center of Central California are the Associating Sponsors.

John C. Harris is the owner of Harris Farms founded in 1937, is one of the United States’ leading producers of agricultural products. Harris Ranch Beef Company produces nearly 200 million pounds of beef and is California’s largest fed cattle processor. California’s leading breeder of thoroughbreds, Harris Farms will stand ten stallions in 2010, including Cee’s Tizzy

Mr. Harris will join other distinguished past recipients of the Agriculturalist of the Year Award which include Phil Larson, Vernal A. Amaro, Debbie Jacobsen, Jon Marthedal, Geb Gebhard, Ken Billings, Bill Allison, Ron Goble, Cosmo Insalaco, Bob Sheesley, A.J. Yates, Irwin Efird, Dr. Charles Smallwood, Harry Kubo, Don Laub, Bill Hambleton, Shawn Stevenson, C.W. “Bill” Jones, Bruce J. Obbink, Jack Woolf, Vincent Petrucci, William McFarlane, Deran Koligian, Jack Stone, Paul Bettancourt, Carol Chandler, Vernon Conrad, Pat Ricchuiti, Nat DiBuduo, Sarkis Sarabian, Jerry Prieto, Fred Machado and Marvin A. Meyers.

In conjunction with the Chamber’s award, Baker Peterson Franklin has announced the 2014 Baker Peterson Franklin Ag Business Award recipient, HMC Farms. This annual award is given to an agricultural organization whose achievements and impact have significantly contributed to the industry and the local community.

According to Chamber President/CEO, Al Smith, “Even in the worst of times, society remains amazed when the ingenuity of the farmer continues to furnish us with food for our tables. To that we celebrate. This is why, annually, we also recognize those who continue to lead us. Come join us in the celebration!”

This year’s award recipients will be honored at the Chamber’s Ag Awards Luncheon at noon on Wednesday, October 29th, 2014 at Tornino’s Banquets. Tickets for the event are available by contacting Chamber Events Manager, Angela Vasquez at (559) 495-4825.


About the author

The author didnt add any Information to his profile yet
No Responses to “Chamber Announces Agriculturalist of the Year and Baker Peterson Franklin Ag Business Award Winners”

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.